NVC for All

A Nonviolent Communication Foundations Course for Animal Advocates

Register here.

Nonviolent Communication is an approach to interpersonal relationships and a way to think about human interactions that is grounded in a perspective that all human actions are motivated by shared needs. It has been used as a strategy to foster more authentic, resilient connections among groups of people. However, some formulations of Nonviolent Communication have been limited in their capacity to address issues of power and privilege, including that related to racial inequities. Participants in this 8-week workshop will be introduced to concepts that enhance the typical formulation of Nonviolent Communication. They will learn more about the ways in which Nonviolent Communication can inadvertently replicate larger societal structures that silence and disempower people from historically marginalized groups. We will explore the four steps of the basic model, and include strategies to integrate awareness of power, privilege and social inequities designed to decrease the likelihood that the model will perpetuate existing social inequities. We will look at ways to use Nonviolent Communication to lift up and discuss inequities when they exist, rather than contribute to silencing and erasure.

This course will take place:

Online (Zoom)
8 Wednesdays from October 6 – November 24, 2021

Time zones:

4-6 PM Pacific Time
5-7 PM Mountain Time
6-8 PM Central Time
7-9 PM Eastern Time

Through this course, we aim to:

  • Explore creative strategies for healing that are in-line with our values
  • Identify what’s important in any situation 
  • Enhance self-awareness and our capacity to name our experience in the moment 
  • Promote fierce self-knowledge and self-advocacy 
  • Strengthen our capacity to acknowledge and lean into interdependence
  • Name systemic, oppressive conditions and their internalized impacts on our communication and relationships
  • Develop our capacity to listen to anyone to get to the heart of the matter, even when we disagree with them
  • Support healing and repair interpersonally and in our communities
  • Acknowledge harm and impact in order to support healing and repair
  • Recognize and celebrate cultural attributes

Optional Elements of the Course

  • Practice exercises to try out in between class meetings will be offered in handouts
  • Pairing up with an empathy buddy for additional practice in between sessions is encouraged but not required

Where can I sign up?

Register using this form.